Latest on Covid travel rules: Portugal removed from UK green list as seven others join red list

Portugal is being removed from the government’s green travel list and no new countries are being added.

It will join the amber list, meaning holidaymakers should not visit and returnees must isolate for 10 days. Seven nations – including Egypt, Costa Rica and Sri Lanka – will join the red list, with the toughest travel rules.

The removal of Portugal means the green list will, from Tuesday, consist of: Australia, Brunei, the Falkland Islands, the Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Iceland, Israel, New Zealand, Singapore, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands and St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.